Upgrading a Server

Prerequisites:

  • Before upgrading, be sure to read the release notes for the new version. The release notes contain a list of known issues, important compatibility information, supported upgrade paths, and module-specific data backup recommendations.
  • Apply all the latest updates available for your operating system, especially those that resolve issues with Java.
  • IMPORTANT: We recommend that you create a backup before upgrading so that you can recover your flows, security settings, and other settings, if an error occurs during the upgrade process.

This procedure is for upgrading a single Spectrum™ Technology Platform server. Follow this procedure when upgrading a standard installation or when upgrading a node in a cluster. If you are upgrading a cluster, be sure to follow the cluster upgrade process. For more information, see Upgrading a Cluster.

If you use remote servers, you must upgrade the remote servers and start them before upgrading the main server. If you upgrade the main server and start it before upgrading and starting the remote servers, you will need to recreate the remote server connections in Management console after upgrading.

  1. Download the updated version of Spectrum™ Technology Platform using the download instructions contained in the release announcement email.
  2. Unzip the downloaded installer to a temporary folder on the server you want to upgrade.
  3. Back up the server. For instructions on creating a backup, see the Administration Guide.
  4. Back up module-specific data for any of these modules if you have them installed.
    Module Items to Back Up
    Advanced Matching Module, Data Normalization Module, and Universal Name Module Back up the contents of these subfolders located in SpectrumLocation/server/modules:
    • cdqdb
    • lucene
    • matcher
    • parser
    • searchindex
    • tables
    Data Hub Module Open the Relationship Analysis Client and click Manage. Select the model you want to back up then click Backup.
    In addition to backing up your models, back up these two property files:
    • server\modules\hub\hub.properties
    • server\modules\db\neo4j.properties
    Location Intelligence Module Back up your named resources, data, and configuration files.
  5. (Optional) You can reduce the time it takes to upgrade your system by purging old records from the execution history. Consider purging the execution history if it contains over 100,000 entries. You can view your execution history in Enterprise Designer under View > Execution History.

    If you are upgrading from 9.0 SP3 or 10.0 SP1, delete old history records manually using Management Console.

    If you are upgrading from version 11.0, 11.0 SP1, or 12.0, use the JMX console to delete old history records. This process is faster than manually deleting records in Management Console, but is only available on versions 11.0, 11.0 SP1, and 12.0. For more information, see Purging Execution History.

  6. Wait for the server to finish the shutdown process before proceeding.
    Important: If you have the Data Hub Module installed, make sure that all models are stopped. Models that do not shut down properly will not open successfully after upgrading.
  7. Run the Spectrum™ Technology Platform installer to upgrade your system.
  8. Apply all the updates for the platform and any modules you have installed. For a listing of updates, see the Update Summary on the Pitney Bowes support website.
Note: Any job or subflow stored in the system during a server upgrade is marked as exposed to provide the same behavior for those jobs and subflows as before the upgrade. Any job or subflow that is exported prior to the upgrade will not be exposed. Therefore, when importing these jobs or subflows back into the system, you must manually expose the imported job or subflow.

Some modules have post-upgrade steps you need to perform.

Data Hub Module Open this file in a text editor: server/modules/hub/neo4j.properties and set the property dbms.allow_format_migration property to true. The purpose of this property is to protect against unintentional and irreversible store upgrades. Setting this property to "true" indicates that you understand the ramifications of proceeding with an upgrade and have taken the necessary precautions before proceeding.

Restart the Spectrum™ Technology Platform server. The server will upgrade each model. Examine the file server/app/repository/logs/wrapper.log for errors or warning messages. Once all models have been upgraded, go back to the hub.properties file and comment out the allow_store_upgrade property.